Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Don't have a pup yet but hopefully I will in six months. however I've been waiting 2 and a half years and counting to have the right circumstances and breeder for my pup. Anywho, I've had plenty of time to learn about the craft of dog training and have actually been able to put my knowledge to the test with my friends dog and he's seen great results. Now I'm not a professional that does behavior modification or anything like that but have enough knowledge to be able to raise a perfectly balanced and obedient dog. So I can establish rules, teach commands, walk a dog properly and that sort. However I'd like to to still hire a trainer when I get my pup to be able to perfect my ability and adress any areas were I may not have the knowledge to know what to do. Such as for example off leash e collar work. So just curious as to how much training I should pay a trainer for. I'd prefer to just pay for one for some assistance during the puppy stage and when the dog is older just to do off leash e collar work and just that. I Don't feel the need to pay for other additional work I feel I can handle such as loose leash walking and such. Just some specifics. I welcome any feedback any experienced dobe owner can offer!

·
Super Moderator
Hairy Dog, RIP Caesar, Katana, Kip, Capri
25,853 Posts
Your second post hit the point I was going to make. Even when you feel confident about your own training ability, it is good to go to training classes with a good trainer, just to give the pup a chance to see all kinds of different people and other dogs in a controlled environment to help in his socialization.

·
Registered
207 Posts