Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got Kenai 2 days ago an was totally unprepared. Getting a crate today, how much space should she be allowed to have outside her crate?

Also when I'm tired of playing with her yet she still wants to play, what should I do?

One more, she likes sleeping in the bed with me, is that a good idea? It's helps with potty training I'm noticing!

Feed back would be much appreciated

Thx, and she's awesome

·
Registered
112 Posts
I got Kenai 2 days ago an was totally unprepared. Getting a crate today, how much space should she be allowed to have outside her crate?

Also when I'm tired of playing with her yet she still wants to play, what should I do?

One more, she likes sleeping in the bed with me, is that a good idea? It's helps with potty training I'm noticing!

Feed back would be much appreciated

Thx, and she's awesome
I'm not an expert but I would make her nap in her crate. Make it a positive experience going into the crate. Treat her and praise her while luring her in. Also, have a command associated with the crate. I use "Kennel up" which I learned up here. If you keep letting her sleep in the bed, you are going to wake up one day and shes going to have pee'd on the bed, guarantee it. Crate training is the best way to house train IMO. Once she is fully house trained, then you can let her sleep with you.

When shes in her crate, she should only have enough space to turn around and fit a couple chew toys inside. If she has more room, she will likely potty in her crate.

·
Registered
416 Posts
I'm curious, was your doberman was gift or did you get her yourself, hence the "totally unprepared" comment?