Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone-

I'm very new to the doby world. I brought home my first doby last November. She is a small little red sweetheart.

I have a question about some newly arisen aggression issues with her, but am having trouble posting in other areas on the forum. I'm wondering if anyone would be able to help me here.

I socialized scout from the day I brought her home. She's been around many other dogs, allowed to play and what not. I also socialized her very well with other people.

But she's always had some issues with new dogs once she reached about 6 months of age. I think she gets protective around me since I'm her chosen person.

And just a few days ago, she attacked another dog. Out of nowhere she just lept at the other dogs neck and wouldn't let go. Once I got her off of the other dog, about ten minutes later she did it again this time with more aggression.

I'm not sure what to do, I've never encouraged this behavior with her and she is living with this dog now and I need to make this work or I'll have to re-home her.

ANY help is much appreciated. Thank you!

·
Premium Member
5,377 Posts
Some dogs just don't like other dogs :( If you plan to keep her along with the other dog you can search male/male agression for ideas how to manage it. Most info is in the male/male threads but apply to living with any dog that doesn't like or tolerate other dogs well.

·
Super Moderator
22,000 Posts
Some dogs are just not dog social. You might look into the methods in Leslie McDevitt's book, "Control Unleashed." I've had good success using those methods, but my dog is still not dog social. She likes different dogs to varying degrees. Some dogs are completely out, some are tolerable, and some she likes. You may also look at the Behavioral Adjustment Therapy (BAT) methods.