Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Handler
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! My name is Mike, I'm from The St.Louis metro area (IL side) 20years old. I'm a Union Laborer (any other union brothers or sisters here on DT?) I've had dogs around my whole life ( My mom was a dog groomer, and before I was born she used to own dobermans.) I've been training dogs since I was 9 years old. Not professionally or anything, but as a hobby. I've done obedience work with multiple of my personal (family, close friends) dogs, and have shed light on training for a few coworkers as well.

My first protection dog was a female 8week old rottweiler named Lexus,that I got when I was 12. My mom's ex-boyfriend gave her to me. He had bought her and her brother and was working them at the same time. And it proved to be to much for him. I finished her out. I never took her to schutzhund competitions or anything, She was mainly an obedience dog. She is now old and retired from anything remotely close to being called work, and lives with my father. (Due to my new house, my staircases and her arthritis.) I have a 3.5 year old Male Czech/Hungarian lined male Rottweiler that was my pride and joy from 10 weeks old. He went everywhere with me, He was fully obedience trained with some protection work. But when my Mom's relationship went south with her boyfriend, she ended up afraid to live alone. Long story short, my Mom ended up with my 115lb Male Rotty and my .25 ACP ;)

I recently moved out on my own back in June, And not only was I completely alone, minus a rescue cat and African Cichlids. I didn't have a dog around for the first time in my entire life. I'm sure you're all wondering where the heck the doberman thing comes into play by now?? HaHa.