Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Officer Murphy #28
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello my name is Angela and I am from Indiana. I have a 10yr old Dobie named Bella. I also had a red female Dobie that was 12yrs old, but she passed a few years ago.
I work at an animal hospital and I am also a Reserve Police Officer. I have just graduated from college with an AS in Criminal Justice. I am planning to become a SPCA Officer.
Currently my Bella is having some blood issues, so I was hoping maybe someone else has had these issues with their Dobie, because right now we are at a lost for what is going on with her.

·
Officer Murphy #28
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Last month she had a blood test everything was normal, she was just having diarrhea so we switched her food put her on antibiotics. She was doing fine and then all of a sudden just wasn't herself. We did a blood test she was low on red blood cells. She was having pain in her abdomen, so we did an exploratory surgery on her. All organs were fine and no internal bleeding.

We did another blood test it came back with low red and white blood cells. We then sent a blood smear to a pathologist and it showed no leukemia or cancer. So right now we are trying Val syrup which is liquid vitamins. She just received a B12 and Iron shot yesterday and now seems worse. She is now only eating wet food and still isn't herself. I'm hoping it's just from the pain of the shots even though she is on pain meds.

So right now we are just searching to find out what is causing this. The Vet said the next option would be to look at the bone marrow. As anyone had this issue or a similar issues with their dobie?

Reactions: Darkevs

·
Super Moderator
21,989 Posts