Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so Im new to the Dobe breed, and Im trying to learn as much as I can before my pup is born next yr. I was wondering if there is some sort of height and weight guide out there I can print off so I know that he/she is growing correctly. Ive already instructed my vet to start "reading up" on Dobes!
Hes a great vet so I totally trust him! But I can go in and weigh anytime I want, so this guide would be just for my own use at home. Any suggestions?
Jen:help_up_2

·
Registered
3,593 Posts
I don't know any guide for their weight based on their height...but you can tell a Doberman that is a good weight when you see it. Since their hair is so short and close to their bodies it is easy to see one overweight...
In my own words...
I always have always listened to the advice that I got that you should always be able to see a hint of their ribs. You can tell in their waist too when they start getting too heavy...They should have a nice elegant curve to their body. If they are too heavy I think they start looking blocky.
I dont know if that helps...maybe someone can find a guide like the one you are talking about.

Just check out the photo gallery and everyone else has beautiful proportioned dobes that you can look at for an example. Or the post on the pictures of those beautiful dobes in their stance for showing in the "Guidelines to stack" post. :)
Speaking of growing properly...there was a 4 month old dobe at the dog park the other day...and it looked soooooo awkward! lol just cause it was sooo tall...and its butt bones were sticking out a lot. I dont remember duchess looking that awkward when she was a puppy.

·
Registered
255 Posts