Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Any other Doberman owners participating in Flyball?

My dog is 20 months old and got his first points and his introductory
title last weekend. He ran clean runs about 70% of his 36 heats.

He was running over 7 and 11 inch jumps and his top speed was about 5.2
seconds. And that was releasing him from about 15 feet, so he didn't
really get to build up his speed.

We won't race for another few months, but I think we can break 5 seconds by the end of the year. And he is a very good passer - he just has a tendency to try and jump OVER another dog if I push the pass too tight. That happens when your dog is twice as tall at the shoulder than the rest of the dogs on the team.

I already ran flyball with my terrier, so my Doberman has been around it since he was a puppy. I started training him in earnest in September 06, and it took right about 6 months to get the entire pattern and integrate good ball technique.

Anyway, please post if you participate in flyball, would like to hear other experiences.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
8,731 Posts
I don't participate in flyball but I love it when I catch it on tv :) It seems like a lot of fun for the dogs & the people.

·
Registered
4,854 Posts
Congrats on the FD title!! Rah is currently training with the head of this team - http://www.flyball.com/gbf/

He's still very much a beginner, and he is still very silly, but he ADORES it!

Congrats again!

·
Registered
3,593 Posts
Do you have a video of him or another dog doing flyball? I have never seen the whole process of the sport but looks like they sure do fly!!! love the picture!

·
Premium Member
8,030 Posts