Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, so I'm new here and I apologize if this is a question that's already been covered or if it's in the wrong place, but I was wondering if anyone knew of a way to search for an apartment that would allow a doberman other than calling every complex in a 20-mile radius. We already have the dog and there's is no option of me getting a house or anything like that. It's just a temporary solution for while I finish school. I live in the Hampton Roads area of VA if it helps. You can skip the rest of this post as this was the main question, I just thought I'd include more information in case anyone needs to know the reasoning behind my need for a doberman-friendly apartment and the overall situation.

As a little background, I am a 21-year-old college student. I've always been the one in my house to care for and train our dogs (over the years that includes a border collie, a yorkie, and a lab), so I have plenty of experience with dogs. About 2 years ago, my sister, against every argument I gave, bought a doberman puppy. Unfortunately, she is by no means a competent or responsible do owner. The dog stays in her crate all day because my sister doesn't like the dog coming up demanding attention and always being underfoot, and doesn't like her running around the small condo (she is a couch potato so the dog isn't allowed a walk further than the front yard to pee and a weekly 15-minute excursion to the nearby tennis court to run while my sister reads the news). Because of how long she is in the crate she inevitably has accidents which my sister takes to mean she isn't housebroken, so of course she gets to stay in the crate even more so she won't have an accident on the carpet. If my sister is leaving for the day, say to go to work at 9 a.m. and is planning to go out after work and won't be home until late, say 10 at night, she will just not feed or water the dog so