Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi just wondering about ears..my vet said 12 weeks is the right time to crop but i've read online that you should do them at 9..i'm unsure since this is my first time with ears being cropped..when is a good time to have it done? or is there a time limit?
can adult dobermans have there ears done aswell?
just want to make sure i have the facts straight on the ears..
i'm trying to find out as much as i can about the correct way of taping the ears up so they wont stand wrong or slump or anything like that..
thanks everyone :) oOFireOo

I'm not sure if i'm posting in the right area so correct me if i post this in the wrong section...

·
Registered
986 Posts
oOFireOo, vets here will not crop PAST 12 weeks. Between 9-12 wks. is pretty standard. Make sure the vet you choose is very experienced in cropping dobie ears (not just other breeds). I recall a thread where this was discussed at length some time ago...perhaps using the "search" function will guide you to it. I'll look as well. Adult dogs are NOT cropped, at least by anyone competent. They on occasion are "re-cropped", but this is corrective surgery and you want to avoid it if possible. As for the taping, you definitely should learn how to do it BUT your vet should include at least some follow-up care (postings). When you decide on a vet for cropping, ask if the price includes postings and for how long. My vet and the vets of many other members here will re-tape weekly for free for as long as you want to bring the dog back. That could be anywhere between 6 weeks-1 year. Some vets will require you to pay per visit each time, which is a good reason to watch, read and learn how to do it (properly) yourself. Good luck.

·
Registered
333 Posts