Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,558 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
DPCA Canada’s Z List of Albino / Albino-Factored Doberman Pinschers

Thought this was interesting and helpful for those who don't wish to have the Z in the dog they are planning on buying or breeding to. It is nice to see Canadians keeping abreast of this issue as well. Please note it is still not completed.

Doberman Pinscher Club of Canada Inc.
Canada’s Z List of Albino / Albino-Factored Doberman Pinschers

http://www.dpcc.ca/dpcc-zlist.htm

·
Registered
2,330 Posts
Thanx for the list. Java was sired by a Canadian Dobe, the dam was AKC registered, so it's good to be able to double-check on health history.

·
Extraordimary
4,954 Posts
waiting said:
I've been working on the list for a few months now and my "baby" was born onto the DPCC website yesterday, although DPCC members have had access to it for about a month now elsewhere.

The *amazing* thing about that list of more than 500 albino factored dogs is that they come from just 3 dogs. Mostly from just 2 dogs - an albino male brought to Canada in the late 80's, one black z factored bitch imported in 1990. Later, another another black z factored bitch was imported in 2004 and has been bred a couple of times.

However, I guess that shouldn't be so surprising considering that the entire albino problem generates from one bitch born in 1976.

Nevertheless, it blew my mind at how it snowballs when intact dogs land in the wrong hands.

As the original poster said, the list is not complete, I don't think. I am still pouring over the studbooks 1985-2005, doing database searches, putting things together. I'm not done, but I felt the information that we have should be out there asap.

·
Registered
4,169 Posts