Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I'm new to the world of Dobermans but have had dogs all my life.
Straight out of the gate I'm going to say this is the CRAZIEST DOG that I've EVER owned!
I've mainly owned Belgians and Shepherds, all full of energy, but this one is truly high strung.

The issue I'm having the most problem with right now is the biting.
He's not doing it much with me anymore at all, but my wife is his FAVORITE CHEW TOY!
Of course, this is causing a big situation between myself and the Mrs. :rolleyesww:
What I can't figure out is if this is a dominance and pecking order issue,
or if he's just trying to play.
IMHO, he is dominating her because he's even tried testing me some of which included
baring teeth and barking.
The difference is, I won't have it.
I think he might have a screw loose too though......
When I correct him from trying to do it with me,
he gets frustrated and starts biting the hell out of himself!
Never seen a dog do that one.:confused:

I think alot of the problem with my wife,may have been created by her though.
Right from the start, she wanted to be his savior more than making him mind.
She thought it was cute when he would bite a her hands, pant legs,ect.
Never correcting the behavior, and just like I told her, it's now a problem!
She can't even come into the room without him jumping all over her,
literaly being on top of her when she's trying to sit, and just tearing her up.
I really don't know what to do about it.
He's generally reasonably well behaved when it's just him and I,
but when she's around he doesn't really listen to me that well either.
Not sure how to fix the problem before it gets dangerous.
Any help would be great!