Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been having a really hard time deciding between a Doberman and Aussie. I really like both breeds, and I think they both suit me pretty well. I'm a pretty active person, I spend a lot of time outside. Hiking, camping, fishing, etc. I'm also very involved with horses. I own a horse, work at a barn, travel to shows around the US in summer, and take lessons. Oh, and my parents live on a small farm, with horses, chickens, waterfowl. I want a smart, trainable dog that will be a great companion, I'd like to be able to take my dog everywhere with me. I love that both dobes and Aussies are "Velcro" dogs. I have no experience or interest in showing my dog, but I'd love to take fun classes like agility.
Anybody have experience with both?
Opinions? Big differences between the breeds?
Thanks so much!

·
Registered
2,264 Posts
I know a lot of horse people own a Dobe. I haven't owned a aussie but know that an aussie might want to herd your horses. Aussie's in my opinion have a little more energy than a dobe. Dobermans will obviously have the protection instinct and the aussie will have the herding instinct. They are both an intelligent breed, and I guess it will depend on what you want to work with. Horse people own a Doberman because the way the doberman moves and just how much the Doberman reminds them of their horses or horses in general.

I think Dobermans have a goofier personality than an aussie, both want to please. Aussies have longer hair and you will see it more around the house and car compared to a Dobe. Aussie's can be prone to matting of the fur if you don't take care of their coat. With a Dobe they can be a little easier to clean. I think the aussie would be a little better in agility. Both breeds need exercise but I think the aussie needs more.

Doberman
Dogs 101 - Doberman (full) - YouTube

Australian Shepard