Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I have a female doberman that has been mated 6 weeks ago but until now she doesn't look like pregnant and her belly is still as small as before. I only see one symptom which is a slight enlargement of her breasts.

I want her to be checked up by vet but I cannot bring her to the vet clinic (an hour-long drive). She is not used in traveling and always stressed and vomits whenever she travels with me. I already ask the vet if they can service the dog at home but they told me that they don't do home service.

How do you think I can determine if she is really pregnant? Can I still walk her outside? She is quarantined right now in her cage because every time I let her out she always jump at people which I think could also abort her pregnancy.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Allan

·
Registered
2,944 Posts
Hi Allan. I am not an expert and have never bred a litter, so I can only go by what I've read.

It can be difficult to tell if a bitch is pregnant, especially if it is her first litter and/or a small litter. A scan is the best way to be sure/show how many pups. They usually start showing around now as they are a larger breed. Has she gone off her food or being more needy or urinating more?

I would really try to read up on everything as much as you can so you are fully prepared for if there are any issues, what would be your back-up if she had issues during the whelping if the vet cant come to see you?

She's not the 9 month old dog in your profile info is she??