Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi.

I would like to get a Doberman i can train for IPO. I have never done this before but I will not let that stop me.

I have been in love with the Doberman since i was 6years old so that would be for 26years now, but I have never owned one. In fact I have only owned 1 dog before, an English Springer Spaniel. I got her after I nagged my parents for half a year to get a doberman or boxer when I was 6, and was told I at least had to be twice as old before I could get a dog. The 12 year old me did remember this so just before I turned 13 I got "Frøya". It was an English Springer Spaniel, as my parents did not approve of my doberman or boxer demands. And that was most likely a good thing that I did not get a more advanced breed so young. I had the sole responsibility for her for 7 years, until my military service and when I went of to university my father fully adopted her. She died of cancer 5 years later.

After that I did not want the responsibility of having another dog before now. (Living in a small apartment and being away long stretches at a time is not dog friendly) But now myself and my girlfriend have moved from Norway to the Philippines and live here as an expats and will be staying here for some years. We now have a house that would work very well with a dog and we even have a maid/caretaker/helper living with us so the dog will never be home alone, and we will mostly be working from our home offices anyway.