Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first doberman and I am relatively new to dog training. I know, not the best combination but I really love the breed and did copious amounts of research before deciding to buy. Being new, I want to make sure I am doing everything I can to help ensure a healthy, happy environment for my puppy.

Here's the dilemma...

I've had my puppy for about a week, he was a little under 8 weeks old when I picked him up. We've been working on socialization and simple obedience training (sit, come, learning his name...) The biting however it becoming an issue. I know that dobe puppies are very mouthy, but the traditional method of saying "Ouch!" or whining like a litter mate would, then ignoring him, doesn't seem to be working. He simply crouches down, wiggles his but and barks before going right back to the biting. I'm assuming he thinks I'm playing. Currently, when he bites, I am gently rolling him on his back with a firm "No" and holding him there until he calms down before letting him up. This method works better but he is hard headed and still wants to go back to biting, sometimes immediately after I let him up. Should I continue with this method or is there another that works better?

I'm worried that some of the biting may be a result of boredom. He has chew toys, pig ears, tennis and rope balls to chew on. We go on walks every morning. However, mental stimulation games don't seem to hold his interest for more than a minute or two(I hide treats in a folded towel trying to encourage him to find them, or put peanut butter in a kong chew toy). And when I throw a ball he has no interest in chasing it. He seems to be more focused on wanting to play tug or play rough/bite my arms/pants legs and shoes. I have been avoiding the tug game in hopes that it will help with his bite inhibition.