Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Daisy just returned home this morning and her very tall ears are all taped and stitched up, hes got them taped up the the brace acrosse the middle, well her left ear is slightly tilted inward but its bothering me, after she gets the stitches out and i retape them using tampons you think itll be ok?

·
Registered
6,589 Posts
Yeah it's be fine! Just leave it for now if it's only slight as not to irritate her freshly cut ears, and fix it later as you mentioned. Best of luck to you and daisy through the "ear training months"!

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I like Lexis ears, can u give me tips on posting and tip so that she wont have bad pockets?

thanky

·
Registered
6,589 Posts
Thanks Gunner, Lexy is my first dog to deal with the posting on, my other dobe from years ago was a rescue and already done. So I am by no means an expert. But with Lexus, I just made sure and this was stressed to me by the breeder to pull them upwards tauntly, not to hurt them, just to have them straight up before adhering them to the brace. I didn't use the tampoons and tape and stuff until the very end, when her brace was permenently off, and she had one ear that was a little stubborn. The brace I used kept them pulled upright.

Just keep them up, and when you have them down to retape, massage them upwards before retaping. Best of luck to your girl gunner!

·
Registered
275 Posts
I agree with Lexus, an ear a little out of place will not ruin them, just be sure when they are re-taped to ensure that ear gets put in the proper position.

Here are my tips from my first taping experience...