Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pele will be two next month. She just got her BH at UDC Nationals and I'm hoping to get her SchH1 in the next few months. After that I was debating on doing conformation with her. I had wanted to show her in the conformation classes at UDC nationals, but just couldn't take the time off work for that long (had already taken off a lot of time for the sieger show and other trials along with UDC). I'm just curious how she would fair, as I know it is extremely competitive and she is European bred. There are a few different photos so you can see her at different angles.

I know she could have a stronger back, which I think is her biggest flaw (since I can see it but am pretty much a complete newb when it comes to conformation), and could use more chest, etc., but I'd love to hear comments on any other strong or weak points, and if you think it'd be worthwhile for me to show her. And, of course, I know you really need to see the dog in person and have your hands on them before you really know. Just asking for opinions. ;)

Also, her pedigree, for anyone interested - Pele Friend of Mine - working-dog.eu

·
Registered
633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
They are still a bit flat, but much better than they were when she was younger! She'll never have those nice, tight, cat feet, though. I'll see if I can find a photo where you can actually see them. Lighting is always better outside so most of them are outside in the grass.

·
Sea Hag
12,933 Posts
I think her low tail set could be a major obstacle-that's something usually considered pretty unforgiveable in the AKC conformation ring. It also looks like she could be cow hocked in the pictures. Straight front, lack of visible forechest.