Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We recently lost our fur bday of 9 years to cancer, a wonderful 9 yr Old Rottweiler that we adopter and loved so much. We have been without a year and recently moved to a 30 acre farm with large fenced homesite. My wife grew up with dobermans and German Shepard as a child on a large farm in west Texas in the 70-80’s. We have no children and little to no social circle, but we feel a void in our life without a dog for first time in 39 years.
we have always adopted from rescue group for Rottweilers. I am just beginning to search our rescue groups in Texas for dobermans, if you have any personal groups you successfully adopted from or have personal knowledge of in Texas or Oklahoma please pass on that reference. Seriously thinking 2 close to same age to help keep each other company , no doubt in my mind our family at the Rainbow Bridge will send us what we need when the time is right.
interested in learning all I can about the breed my wife so fondly remembers from her childhood years.

·
Super Moderator
Hairy Dog RIP Caesar, Katana, Kip, Capri
30,247 Posts
Getting two puppies close to the same age is not recommended at all--you run the risk of littermate syndrome (the dogs become very dependent on each other and develop characteristic temperament problems) even if they aren't actually from the same litter. If they come as a pair who were raised together, do a little questioning to make sure they have healthy individual temperaments.

Adopting two adults at similar ages can work out OK (make SURE you get one of each sex--dobes are prone to same-sex aggression), BUT....then you're likely to lose both of them fairly close together--which can be hard on the heartstrings (not to mention the pocketbook.)

Anyway, just a comment, because I can't really help you with any recommendations--someone here is likely to chime in though.