Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Karma is now getting to the age where I can begin some serious training and I'm wondering what type of collar is best for the transition. I'm just beginning to give a short "pop" correction when she starts lunging forward on the leash but she seems to be getting immune to it and I'm reluctant to do a harder pop with her nylon puppy collar.

I've seen a lot of photos in the gallery and there seems to be a wide disparity between the ones used. I've mostly seen wide, leather collars but I've also noticed the nylon slip type collars I've seen in conformation trials, in addition to the standard nylon collar I'm using now and even some metal "choker" type collars as well.

I refuse to use the metal choker or prong collar and I can't find a wide leather collar in her size anywhere locally, except for the one's with metal spikes which look riduculous. So I'm thinking about trying the thin nylon slip collar but wanted to get some experienced advice before I do.

So what collar do you use and why?

·
Registered
880 Posts
Prong because with it you can make very gentle corrections that get a message across. They're also much easier on a dog then a regular flat collar (leather or nylon) and especially a choke. I don't like chokes, metal and most especially nylon. They require very harsh corrections that are much harder on the dog.

Some one on another forum did an experiment once. She put a metal choke around a mellon and did a number of corrections. She then put a prong on another mellon and did the same number of same strenght corrections. The melon that was wearing the choke had marks, and guages where the choke chain had been, the prong mellon had no marks.

·
Registered
3,571 Posts
I use the prong collar with mine. They could choke themselves all day long with any choke out there. It is on for the simple reminder and to use if I need to.

·
Registered