Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, this is my first time logging into this forum, I'm just hoping to increase my knowledge about dobermans before purchasing a puppy! I've already found two reputable breeders in my area that look promising, and who have good values and breeding qualifications. I just have two questions before I start contacting them for more information.

First of all - I'm wondering about space. Currently my boyfriend and I live in a two-bedroom apartment condo in the Toronto area. However, there is a large (non-private, obviously) backyard behind the building, which will be more than suitable for pee breaks. As well, there is a large park within a 5-minute drive of the building. The owners of the condo do allow pets, including Dobermans. As my boyfriend and I are very active, (camping, hiking, biking, etc.) is it likely that I will get rejected for a puppy because we live in a condo?

As well, what other things are good breeders looking for when choosing a home for their puppies?

Thank you for the help!

·
sufferin succotash
9,168 Posts
Some breeders prefer pups go to a home with a fenced in yard, for the pup's safety. Is it a deal breaker? From some, yes. It's best to contact the breeders directly and explain your living arrangements.

Here are some other things you will want to think about:

-what training club will you use? (for obedience training)
-what vet will you use?
-what training method will you use?

Please take some time to check out this thread: http://www.dobermantalk.com/breeding-breeders/47441-reputable-breeders-new-folks.html

Excellent resources can also be found here: Doberman Pinscher Club of America: Living With a Dobe

·
u mad?
6,476 Posts
Other than what's been mentioned already, my boys breeder asked things like...
What experience do you have with dogs?
What experience do you have with dobermans?
What other pets do you have?