Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a question of breeders who don't like their puppies to go to a home with young children.

Is this an across the board rule, or is it a case by case basis? Would you consider it if the parents had previous doberman experience? I'm just wondering as eventually I will be in a position to get a puppy, but I will at that time probably have 3 children one of which will probably still be young. My kids are 9 and 4.5 now.

All of this is hypothetical currently as a puppy is probably 5 yrs down the road.

I know I can handle a puppy and kids, heck I'm a teacher handling kids is what I do every day!

·
Registered
1,785 Posts
I have become a bit more flexible in this :) My first answer is usually no kids under 7 :) but with previous dobe experience I would continue the process. Really it comes down to the parents and how their children relate to the dogs. I met the absolute cutest little boy at the Lima shows yesterday. Boy his parents should be proud. It's when the kids are yanking and poking at my dog and the parents are oblivious or continually repeating "brian don't do that, brian, brian" that I just suggest that a dobe pup is maybe not right for them right now. I know someone else will sell them a puppy but I don't want my puppy subjected to that.

·
Premium Member
8,727 Posts
It just depends on the family. I would require previous Doberman or other large active breed experience, and until I see the whole family interacting with puppies, I won't commit. I also have to have the right puppy for them - would not place just any puppy in a home with young kids. I also absolutely require a physically fenced yard where you can just open a door for the dog to go out..... I'm a mother myself and know how hard it can be to watch the dog with young kids - mine are teenagers now.... but been there and done that!

·
sweep the leg
1,016 Posts