Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to the doberman breed, but I am a pretty fast learner. My husband and I have been posting our female's ears using the Zonas tape and foam strips for support (identical to how our vet was doing). Just recently I was reading on this site about using the breath right strips. Could someone let me know about it as it might benfit us as our girl's ears are trying desperately to stay floppy. I alos read that alot of you used tampons for ear support and someone mentioned popsicle sticks I am fearful that the popsicle sticks might be to rigid and could hurt the inside of the ear.
Thanks!:help_up_2

·
just a member
2,996 Posts
We used the Breath rights only after we had a strong base of the ears, but the tips were still floppy. The ears were stabding good but just the tips needed support. Before then we were religiously posting away using the tampon methods. With using the breath right strips, we applied them with a little skin Bond, from Smith & Nephew that helped them stay on longer. It pretty much held for atleast 5 days.

How are the ears floppy? If its a total flop, no part of the ear is standing, then you need to continue posting.

·
just a member
2,996 Posts
BTW, how old is your girl? IS she done teething yet? I pretty much were not satisfied with my girls ears until she was 7 months old. Then we used the breath right strips for the floppy tips. Also what kinda of crop does she have? Longer crops may take longer to stand than a shorter crop.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you for the response. My girl Sadie is 5 months old and she looks like an airplane's wings when her ears are down to be cleaned. The breeder we got her from said don't give up it will happen just when you think it won't ever. From what I have read it could take for her to be 6 or 7 months old or even longer. She has a medium crop.