Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We feed our now 18 week (4+ months) puppy kibble (crude fat 17%, crude protein 28%) plus 500 mg Vitamin C, 800 mg Vit E, and 1000 mg fish oil per day. Supplements are split between her meals. (She still gets 3 smaller meals a day).

We just made bone broth for her and are wondering if we should skim the fat off so she doesn't get too much fat in her diet (esp with the vit E and fish oils already added in). It would seem like there are a bunch of wonderful fat soluable vitamins in it so I would hate to throw it away, but we won't use it otherwise.

The broth we made condensed down quite a bit and we are leaving it condensed and going to make broth ice cubes and planning on giving 2 (a little less than 2oz) a meal melted down with enough hot water to soften the food.

I'm new to the supplement/broth world. That said I do want to stick with kibble as the base of her diet.

·
Super Moderator
15,370 Posts
What kind of bones are they? If it's just a few teaspoons I might not bother but lots of fat can cause loose stools or pancreatitis as you probably already know. LindaH on here has been doing a lot with bone broth on her senior boy so maybe she will chime in. I would not recommend softening dry food for a long period of time as your puppy will get a lot of tartar build up.

·
Bazinga!
4,534 Posts
I tend to skim a lot of the fat off before I freeze it.
It really depends on how fatty it is. Depending on the bones I've used I often don't have to skim anything off.

I wouldn't soften her food as it will allow bacteria to grow. I put a frozen cube of broth with their meals every night and they have no problem.

·
Registered
9,577 Posts
Rats, just lost a post re percentage of Vitamn E to fish oil. Briefly, because the guy who is cleaning the gutters just showed up and I promised to help him.