Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all - I am new to owning a doberman, and have had Krieg now for exactly a month today! He's just now four months old. I have a question about his ears. I've been posting with tampons and Jonas tape, just as his breeder did. I am careful not to wrap the tape too tightly. He hasn't had any problems until now. When I took his ears down last night, I saw that he's developing blisters on the outsides of both his ears. They haven't opened, which is good, but they look so sore. He's also lost so much of his hair there - the tape just pulls it right off. I was planning on reposting last night, but just couldn't bring myself to do it with those blisters there.

Does anyone have any suggestions? His ears stand well when they're free, but he's just started teething, so I know he needs to be posted. But what do I do about these blisters?

Any help would be great and very much appreciated!

(I'm at work, so I can't post any pictures.)

·
APS SGT
1,427 Posts
I have heard that blisters can be an indication that the tape shrunk and impaired circulation. Is there any chance the tape might have gotten a little wet? It would only take a mist from a sprinkler, or a run through long damp grass to cause the tape to shrink a little. I don't want to freak you out but that is what comes to mind first without pictures.

I used ostomy glue to secure the posts in my last puppy's ears and left the tape loose, and didn't use a strip of tape at the tip of her ears. I was super worried that the tape would shrink if my other dog's got their slobber all over her ears.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3