Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Always Faithful
622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think this thread is probably going to get a lot of attention, and I'm going to get quite a bit of opinion interspersed with information in your replies, but I've prepared myself, so here goes...

First, the backstory (synopsis):

I am pretty new to the breed. I fell in love with Dobermans before I had ever actually lived with one. In 2010, I was living well in Texas, had a great job, and just moved my family into the house on which we were about to close escrow. I had my heart set on finding a cropped/docked black/rust male Doberman for adoption, and I did. We went through the application process, home visit, met him and brought him home after he was neutered. He was a beautiful, wonderful dog (although young and in need of training) and I had every intention of offering him the best home possible...

Three weeks later, I lost my job. Consequently, I was unable to close escrow on the house and we were forced to move everything we owned into a storage unit, and drive back to California (where our extended family is located) with just the clothes on our backs and whatever I had in my account.

Without knowing what the future held, the best decision I could've made (IMO) was to return him to the rescue in hopes that they'd find another home for him quickly. Also, it's their policy, as it is of most rescues and I adhered to the contract I signed when I adopted him.

Fast forward one year...

We were finally back on our feet, although not as well off as we were in Texas. I had found another full-time job and we had a (rented) roof over our heads.

Anyone who has ever lived with, and loved a dog, knows how empty their life can feel without the company of one. I deeply missed the companionship, and felt it was time to look for another dog.