Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Russell & Rex
164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so ive been studing what sort of training to do with Rex not even to do in competitions but just to improve his quality of life and give him purpose, and well if it goes well who knows. so i want to give schutzhund training a go ive ordered 2 books and have already done alot of research but what i want to know from you guys are any tips on how to start a 18 week puppy off in this sport and what equipment i will need.

also the obedience part what the best way to go about getting a proper velcro heel with the eye focus???

any help is greatly appriciated and go easy im new to all this :roflmao:

·
Back Off
1,721 Posts
First, schutzhund isn't necessarily a 'train at home' kind of sport. There is an experienced member on this board who does a lot of his own training because of his location (Alaska), but this is not preferred, and would be nearly impossible for a beginner. (Adhan can speak for himself of course!)

The best thing to do would be to find local schutzhund clubs in your area, go watch their training, and decide if you are ready for the commitment. Then join the club. I can't imagine trying to do anything but the obedience on your own (without a professional or other guidance) and even the obedience requires other people, other dogs, other distractions etc.

I'm only at my BH level, and even then, there is no way I could've gotten this far on my own. I laid the foundation by myself, then found a training group to actually 'get into the sport'.