Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

Bad Ear crop?

5K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  Shirerat 
#1 ·
Hello all,

I'm new to the doberman forum. This is our second pup and we just had his ears cropped. The veterinarian was recommended by the breeder, but I'm not so sure he was the best choice now.
We had the ears done this past Tuesday. They kept him overnight but we were notified that he bled more than usual. (The breeder said the dam was vwd carrier but the sire was clear, by the way). When I picked him up the next day, they showed me how to wrap the ears and start posting. I was instructed to rewrap every 3 days and could bring him back after 14 to have stitches removed. We removed the bandages on day 2 because he was pretty smelly and I thought it would be better to air them out.... but the tips of his ears are very raw, don't have any sutures, and still bleeding. We rewrapped and left them alone until Saturday (today) hoping they would scab over. They are still bleeding and still very smelly.

We had one doberman prior to this who we took to a different vet. He came home with dissolvable stitches and ears down. We had no problems. I don't recall the ears being so raw.

We're currently at our local vet for a booster and we're having them look at the ears to see if maybe he needs antibiotics or can do something to stop the bleeding. They don't deal with ear crops though, so I'm not sure how much success we'll have. I was trying to avoid taking him back to where we had them done, as it's 3 hours away.

I've been reading through the posts on this site and there seems to be lots of info. I'm wondering if you lovely people could please offer advice on the best way to let the ears heal. I got the impression that they shouldn't be wrapped and need to breathe, but we're having a hard time immobilizing the ears so he doesn't start bleeding everytime he shakes his head.