Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 106 Posts

·
Registered
3,142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've always thought about doing Schutzhund with Diesel but I'm very new to it and want to learn as much as I can before I get involved so any of you with experience with this please chime in. First off what age do you start training for it? How much OB training is needed? What kind of equipment is needed? Also money wise can it be on the expensive side? What determines if a dog will be good for Schutzhund? I haven't done too much research yet into it but that is what I'm starting to do now is gathering lots and lots of info so if anyone knows any good websites or articles to check out feel free to send them my way. I really want to get Diesel involved in something and Schutzhund has always been fascinating to me.

Thanks everyone!

Side note: I hope I posted this in the right spot :)

·
Registered
990 Posts
I haven't been in it too long, but it is very time consuming...more than most other dog sports because you are training for three different things at one time (obedience, tracking, and protection). It can be expensive depending on the club. The best way to know if your dog is a candidate is to take him to a club to be evaluated. I started bringing my puppy at 16 weeks, but that was really for socialization...but we have been doing light obedience and tracking work since then and are just starting to get serious about the protection work at 7mo (before it was just a tug game).

I have one dog that started late and one started at puppyhood...so from my experience I would say start as early as you can.

As far as what items to get...I would just start with a flat collar, leash, hotdogs, and a ball on a string. All you want to work on is getting him excited about working. Michael Ellis' videos are great for beginners.

·
Doberman Slave
2,677 Posts