Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
606 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off i want to apologise because I got snippy in my last post about Jazz's legs. I have a few things going on right now and I let the stress come out in my post.

I am VERY new to the show world, having been introduced to it only in January 2006.

Most people say that it is harder to get a AKC Ch. than a CKC Ch. Why? The only difference I know is AKC is 15 points and 3 majors were the CKC is 10 points and 2 majors.

So besides that is it the amount of dogs you have to beat for a major? What is the difference. I am willing to learn I just came off bad in the last post.

Please no fights.

·
Sea Hag
12,933 Posts
JennSLK said:
Most people say that it is harder to get a AKC Ch. than a CKC Ch. Why? The only difference I know is AKC is 15 points and 3 majors were the CKC is 10 points and 2 majors.
To earn an AKC ch. you need to earn 15 points. with at least two major wins under two different judges. Majors are defined as 3, 4, or 5 point wins.

To earn a CKC ch. you need 10 points, with one win being at least 2 points. I think you also need to earn those 10 points under at least two different judges.

The point system for AKC is calculated on prior entries, and is updated every year. It's also divided into different regions, with some regions having a higher point schedule than others.

My bitchette, for example, just earned a major last month in Utah. It was 3 points, just missing being 4 points by 2 bitches. As I remember, she beat 26 other class bitches that day. So that's one major under her belt-she still has to do that one more time just to fulfill the requirement for majors, in addition to earning 9 singles.