Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The pup I had picked out had its tail redocked when the ears were croppedat 6 weeks. Momma Doberman would not leave it alone, and irratated it. It was then redone, and Mom again tore the stitches out the day I was to pick up the pup. The breeder was very nice, and offered to return my deposit, offered me another pup of my choice, to keep the pup I wanted until the tail had healed,...basically anything I wanted. I was already in love with my pup, and decided that it was best to have her with me instead of the Mom. (I posted this problem earlier, but not to this extent, and now updating). I was a vet tech, and am home all the time so I felt I knew what would be best for the pup. The breeder refunded part of my cost of the pup to cover additional vet costs that I may incur.
My vet., who I trust, and have used for years, says we must not do surgery on the tail again. Kali, my 9 week old pup, wears a E collar most of the time. I wash the tail, with a nice warm soak in the sink, and some puppy shampoo one daily. My vet is having me apply Silver Sulfadiazine to the tail 2 times daily. This ointment is used on burn victims for healing and protection It looks "angry", but the pup is showing no signs of infection, so my Vet does not think oral antibiotics are indicated. It is still very red/pink with tissue exposed, and looks horrible. The open area is about 1 inch in diameter. I know it is bothering her. Have any of you dealt with a situation like this? If so what did you do? The vet is not calling it a nueroma, but after my research it maybe one. The tissue is not granulated, but is open. This is a new thing for me.
She is a good pup, and her ears are coming along beautiful. I am using the tampon method. I feel horrible that she has to wear the collar, but she will bite her tail raw if she gets a chance. It is extremely uncomfortable for her. :thanx:

·