Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my 1st Doberman and he is attached at my side, however he is testing me and his boundaries. I try to correct him with no results. He knows basic commands and the word NO. Any help with corrections?

·
sufferin succotash
9,168 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There are no training facilities within a 100 miles. He was givin to me and I want to learn how to be a responsible owner. Web sites? Any suggestions will be great. I am a newbie but I am dedicated.:confused:confused::confused:

·
Registered
9,449 Posts
I'm not so sure he is testing boundaries. He may be used to jumping to get attention. It works so he jumps. If the dog is NOT hurting me (depending on size and how hard they might hit me), I turn my body sidways so they slide off me and I ignore them. When they stop jumping, I calmly reward.

If he is nipping while jumping, I would do a simila thing and also ask for a down to get his mouth away from me.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Update! Great advise here guys. Leerburg was the information I needed. Tito is doing better and I have learned alot about the mistakes I was making. I purchased a prong collar and learned correct fitting and how to use. Thanks so much!

·
Registered
5,026 Posts
Update! Great advise here guys. Leerburg was the information I needed. Tito is doing better and I have learned alot about the mistakes I was making. I purchased a prong collar and learned correct fitting and how to use. Thanks so much!
I personally do not like prong collars and for this I do not think it is necessary. Turning sideways does the trick with my dogs, but I guess it is whatever rocks your boat.

By the way, where are you in the world.

Good luck with your pup.

·
Always Grateful
6,952 Posts