Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to dobermans however have been taking classes to help me deal with training etc... I have a 16month old and at night he refuses to sit still. I was told with the young ones to get him a bed and show him where to lay while we are all in the family room.

I did this, but lately he just wants to roam around the house and explore. He gets plenty of time outside playing and running (live on a horse farm) note: some days are limited but has at least a good two hours outside daily to run and explore. Is taken out in the am, afternoon, evening and once before bed to use the restroom.

So I have been gettin a little more stern with him while he is in the house and making him lay down either on his bed or the floor (its carpet) He has a chew toy in the house and fresh food and water.

Am I doing the right thing by showing him where to lay??? Or am I doing it wrong??? What else should I be doing??

·
Registered
82 Posts
I think its great that you have a specific place for your dog, some times the consistency helps, but sometimes physical exercise isn't enough to settle them down. Why don't you try some mental stimulation before down time, I found that tired dickson out more when he was younger than running around did.

·
Registered
3,587 Posts
None of my dogs want to go and lay on the dog bed over there. My dogs get ample exercise, physical and mental. I then make sure they each get snuggle, petting and one on one time. Then they are content to be told that their time is up and to go lay down. But the majority of the time we are all up on the same couch in a pile.

So is the dog getting some snuggle/petting time? Or are you saying he doesnt know how to relax? Dobies are also velcro meaning they want to be right next to you or better yet on top of you! hehe

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·