Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums

Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums (https://www.dobermantalk.com/forumindex.php)
-   Rainbow Bridge (https://www.dobermantalk.com/rainbow-bridge/)
-   -   Honest opinion needed (https://www.dobermantalk.com/rainbow-bridge/303579-honest-opinion-needed.html)

acro 07-29-2018 04:52 PM

Honest opinion needed
 
Lost my best friend last week to DCM.
I'm a widowed/retired man at age 65. My dobe only lasted 5.5 years and I want a new pup. Do you think I'm getting to old for a Dobie ? I'm not as active and occasionally get sciatica but, want your honest opinion please. I live in Ft. Lauderdale and own my house.
What say you ?

melbrod 07-29-2018 05:11 PM

I won't really address your capabilities vs a new dobe, but something to consider.....if you don't feel up to dealing with a puppy or a young dog, you could consider a rescue/adoption of an older, more settled dobe. An advantage to that is that you could match your living conditions/capabilities with a particular dog's exercise expectations and personality.

You may have to deal with health problems in an older dobe, but all dobes come with a possibility of poor health even at a young age....and the older guys need homes too.

greenkouki 07-29-2018 05:52 PM

I like Mel's suggestion. It could work great for your situation.

Cressrb 07-29-2018 06:03 PM

I don't know how active is active here, but I got my first Doberman at age 68, so of course, I don't think you are too old!

ECIN 07-29-2018 06:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cressrb (Post 4030543)
I don't know how active is active here, but I got my first Doberman at age 68, so of course, I don't think you are too old!

:grin2::grin2::grin2: That was a good one ! :wink2:

Dobe_Mom 07-29-2018 07:32 PM

Depends on your lifestyle. What you may lack in "youthful energy" you may make up for with time to dedicate to the dog. I can tell you that for us it was way easier to find time more time for dog care and dog activities after my husband retired.

4x4bike ped 07-29-2018 07:47 PM

I am 65 yo. Last year I had total hip and knee replacements. I have one more joint surgery to go eventually. My current youngest will be 4 in september.

I have owned Doberman males since the mid 70's. My next pup will be a Doberman. I cannot imagine life without one.

One way or another, I will make it work.

BTW... My wife is at 65 is very athletic (She ran the recent Boton Marathon). So that is a big help. Also I have a son who has owned Dobes his entire life.His current senior is very compatible with McCoy. Plus, I have a very trustworthy Trainer/Walker on call.

It is always possible to raise.train and maintain a Doberman. One just always must have their ducks in a row!

John
Portland OR

ECIN 07-29-2018 08:29 PM

Acro - Sorry to hear about your lose - I really don't know how to answer your question - As Left coast John said - I can't imagine our house with out a Doberman in it - that-s the same here , Yet - your asking for our opinion - My guess is your thinking you want to be fair to your new pup - you know how they are - to me - like most on here - your really thinking about the wellbeing of the Dobie over your self - You want to give him - Her - the best you can and not being able to take care of them or have to give one up - Am I close ? Well one thing I know - A Doberman don't know age -- as in us - they didn't know us when we were young - they just love the holly crap out of us - and we return it the best we can and they are happy !


I wish I had something smart to say about your subject - But am at a lose of words - I do thing that nobody knows themselves better than you - So -- I guess my opinion would be - you walk in and stand in front or a mirror and ask yourself - Acro - ole boy - are you up to it ?? My guess is you will say Hell yes ! and will be posting up pictures of your new gal or boy

good luck !!

Ken

acro 07-29-2018 08:33 PM

Thank you all for your honesty. I really do appreciate it. My last Red male euro who just past away was from a byb , which I paid $1800 for and I loved that dog and he went everywhere with me.
Flashback 6 years ago and all of you told me not to do buy from a byb. Back then, I new better then all of you:frown3: Boy was I an A** H**e or what !
Just got lucky and have an opportunity to get a black/rust male who will be cropped this Wed and I can pick up on fri/sat. Both sire and dam are titled with excellent pedigree and health.Price $3,500.
This is the first time breeding dobes for her but , she got the bitch from "Veedocdomermans" and Dr. Leigh McBride is her neighbor ,coach ,chopper and cropper ,lol. The sire was a stud for two pups.

I'm listening to you all this time. What do you think ? :nerd:

CRDobe 07-29-2018 08:39 PM

Well, I agree with Dobe Mom. I got my present girl at 8 weeks when I was 65. I'm retired, live out in the sticks, and really put my all into her. I found it fun! I'm active but no marathon runner. We have an incredible bond and she is a joy to live with.

acro 07-29-2018 09:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ECIN (Post 4030565)
Acro - Sorry to hear about your lose - I really don't know how to answer your question - As Left coast John said - I can't imagine our house with out a Doberman in it - that-s the same here , Yet - your asking for our opinion - My guess is your thinking you want to be fair to your new pup - you know how they are - to me - like most on here - your really thinking about the wellbeing of the Dobie over your self - You want to give him - Her - the best you can and not being able to take care of them or have to give one up - Am I close ? Well one thing I know - A Doberman don't know age -- as in us - they didn't know us when we were young - they just love the holly crap out of us - and we return it the best we can and they are happy !


I wish I had something smart to say about your subject - But am at a lose of words - I do thing that nobody knows themselves better than you - So -- I guess my opinion would be - you walk in and stand in front or a mirror and ask yourself - Acro - ole boy - are you up to it ?? My guess is you will say Hell yes ! and will be posting up pictures of your new gal or boy

good luck !!

Ken

You hit the nail. I guess I should have mentioned that. Thank you Ken..

4x4bike ped 07-29-2018 09:28 PM

"This is the first time breeding dobes for her but , she got the bitch from "Veedocdomermans" and Dr. Leigh McBride is her neighbor"

I would be very interested if I were you. Still... I would definitely speak to Dr. McBride and make sure that all is on the up and up.

Me... I wouldn't blink at $3500 for a nice, well bred pup.

JMO

John
Portland OR

acro 07-29-2018 09:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4x4bike ped (Post 4030581)
"This is the first time breeding dobes for her but , she got the bitch from "Veedocdomermans" and Dr. Leigh McBride is her neighbor"

I would be very interested if I were you. Still... I would definitely speak to Dr. McBride and make sure that all is on the up and up.

Me... I wouldn't blink at $3500 for a nice, well bred pup.

JMO

John
Portland OR

Yes John, Dr. McBride referred me to her. She has supervised the whole process and also, the Vet :)

4x4bike ped 07-29-2018 09:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by acro (Post 4030583)
Yes John, Dr. McBride referred me to her. She has supervised the whole process and also, the Vet :)

I would go for it. My only caveat is that you should be comfortable with a long term relationship with the actual breeder.

Best to you. I hope all goes your way.

John
Portland OR

bonjazz06 07-30-2018 07:08 AM

Acro, such an interesting post and varied responses. I can relate first-hand on several levels with you. I've had two total knee replacements, plus lost my female dobe to DCM very suddenly in mid May, she was 7 1/2 years old. Also, I've got you by a few years, as does my husband, and we were devastated at our dobie loss, but both of us knew we wanted another dob for sure, and asap. Oh, I should add, we have a female dob, age 3 years, and we felt she missed her buddy too. Question(s) were, rescue or breeder, male or female, puppy, or older, more mature dog. We posed a lot of questions and did a lot of research and seriously wondered if we were too old to get another dob, or a puppy. So, can relate to much of the stuff you've gone through. Anyway, we drove 5,000 kilometers in total, visiting shelters, and rescues, in hopes of finding another dob for our family and letting our female dob "pick her buddy". It was an interesting experience. None of the mature males we saw, perhaps a dozen, were a good match. Then we contacted breeders, made another long road trip, and came home with a four-month old female who is so perfect in every respect, and such a fabulous addition to our pack. We are completely delighted with our choice and feel so fortunate. In short, we said good-bye to Bonita and a month later added Olivia to our family.

We are retired, dedicated to our fur girls, take them for daily socialization and exercise, plus they enjoy swimming in our pool. I wonder if we would do all these activities if we didn't have the two dobes?? For us, getting another dob was absolutely the right decision, and having two is fantastic! They are indeed our best mates...all the things you realize as do other readers. We will meet their needs and they certainly love us huge, which is such a dobermann trait.

What you pay for the pup, IMHO, is worth every cent, if you find a good match in a dob that feels right for you. Of course the health and pedigree are important, and it looks like you're starting out with a good foundation. I hope it works out for you. For us, with some similarities to your situation, it has worked out perfectly. So, go for it, and enjoy!!

LadyDi 07-30-2018 09:28 AM

Turning 60 this October.....I tell my husband all the time .....Hoss keeps me mov'in......if I want to get lazy.....NOPE..not gonna happen with this boy around.....Hoss does not acknowledge the weekend............

Like ECIN says ..these dogs do not ask for attention..they demand it!!!

If you can afford it financially..... and are up to their demands ....go for it !!!

dobebug 07-30-2018 10:22 AM

Mmmm--let's see--I'll be 79 in October and have a Dobe (I keep saying my last) who will be 13 in November. But we've been having a major heat wave here Oregon for the last week and a friend took my old boy (who is definitely not as heat resistant as he once was out to her house which has A/C) and I think now that while I may not be ready for another puppy I probably know enough breeders to find a retiree--a week without a Doberman in the house and I'm pretty sure I'm not ready to be without one.

The cats keep wanting to know where their dog is...

Cressrb 07-30-2018 11:47 AM

Dobebug, you're just 4 yrs ahead of me! I know I could face another Doberman puppy. I have raised and shown Staffybulls for the last 42 yrs and I have to say Dobermans are sooo much easier than
Staffords. Dobermans seem to mature quicker too. Like Lady Di said, they keep you going and I think keep us younger because of all the love and laughs. I will never say never for a good while yet.

Fitzmar Dobermans 07-30-2018 02:26 PM

I hope I'm never too old to have a Doberman! As long as you have a fenced yard for exercise, I think you are good!

ECIN 07-30-2018 04:13 PM

Well my friends -- I wonder if Arco put that down payment on that NEW pup yet ??? :grin2::grin2::grin2::grin2:

LadyDi 07-30-2018 04:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ECIN (Post 4030727)
Well my friends -- I wonder if Arco put that down payment on that NEW pup yet ??? :grin2::grin2::grin2::grin2:

My bet is YES !!!!!

alan j. 07-30-2018 05:22 PM

hey ACRO , come to a Doberman site as a Dobe person yourself and expect to hear "do not get a dobe" does not seem that way!
They can be frustrating for the first 18 months and then they usually become exactly what you want.
I have not lived as long as you nor do i have your loss , I have other dogs besides a doberman and a wife but i would feel lonely without the dobe.

acro 07-30-2018 05:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alan j. (Post 4030761)
hey ACRO , come to a Doberman site as a Dobe person yourself and expect to hear "do not get a dobe" does not seem that way!
They can be frustrating for the first 18 months and then they usually become exactly what you want.
I have not lived as long as you nor do i have your loss , I have other dogs besides a doberman and a wife but i would feel lonely without the dobe.

I know ,lol. joined this site in '12 with my first dobe. But, have been inactive for about 3 years.

acro 07-30-2018 05:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ECIN (Post 4030727)
Well my friends -- I wonder if Arco put that down payment on that NEW pup yet ??? :grin2::grin2::grin2::grin2:

Deposit ? I don't need no stinkin deposit !

I paid in full 0:)

acro 07-30-2018 05:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LadyDi (Post 4030729)
My bet is YES !!!!!

LadyDi is the winner.
Ears cropped this Wed and picking up Fri. 10 hour round trip. :crying:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
@2005 - 2008 DobermanTalk.com

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome