Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

Apartment life?

4K views 16 replies 14 participants last post by  Anton-Caesar 
#1 ·
Hey, I'm new to this. Looking for some advice on dobies living in apartments. We are looking for a puppy in the spring time, making sure we are well prepared for a pup and stuff. We've been doing our research and are just crazy about getting a doberman. We are prepared for exercising daily, lots of play, and our apartments definitely allow dobermans. :)

#2 · (Edited)
A concern I do see with your set up is the question of whether or not your lifestyle/career might force you to move (different job, across country, etc.) sometime in the next several years. Having a place that allows dobes is a great first step, but do give some thought to your future plans, 'cause having to move and being unable to find a new place that will accept your dog can make for some heart-wrenching decisions.

We got our first dobe way back in the old days--we both worked and we lived in an apartment, so perhaps conditions weren't ideal. But we made adjustments to our schedules, and devoted all our time to our dobe "child" (no human kids). Exercise was the big thing--he needed about an hour off-leash walking each day to be happy. And even more on the weekends, to make up for his lack during the working week. When we moved, we had to rent a house, because we couldn't find an apartment that would take him.

#3 ·