Doberman Forum : Doberman Breed Dog Forums banner

Hello DT!

2K views 26 replies 14 participants last post by  Brandy&Melanie 
#1 ·
Hey there,

Been lurking on this forum for quite a while now.. and decided what the heck.

I lost my dog last year (non-doberman) and am slowly starting to wish for a bundle of fur back in my life. I've always admired this breed, so I came back onto this forum after a long hiatus to scoop up some information (especially about posting! @_@)

I'm from the lower mainland, BC
I don't mind travelling outside my area for my dream puppy. I wouldn't need any registration, but do they come with one if the parents are show dogs (such is the case with the reputable breeders I find)? Is this partially the reason of the cost as well? I'd really not want to resort to a BYB (I had to google this lol)

Some questions I have is:

Any litters due within the next 6-12 months? I'm not in a hurry at all.
I've been asking around and the puppies seem to go for around $2000 each. Is this normal? I would prefer to spend a little bit more and buy from a reputable breeder, but holy this breed is expensive!
I've read that Dr. Douglas is one of the best. Does anyone know which crop he's best in? I'm probably leaning towards the medium crop, as I'm afraid I wouldn't do a good job maintaining the show crop. My dog would only be a companion pet to boot.

Any recommendations/suggestions?

See less See more
#4 ·
Hi. Welcome to the forum. A couple of your questions are easily answered.

From what I understand, Canada has some fairly specific laws regarding the selling of animals. If they are sold as "purebred", a puppy must be registered.

As for ear cropping, a good breeder will have the ears cropped before the send the puppy home, so you wouldn't need to worry about finding a good cropper (working-line breeders may or may not crop).

From what I've seen mentioned on the forum, $2000 sounds about right for a well-bred puppy from a reputable breeder.